So I started thinking that different people are moved by different things. First off, my main motivation is to help my son, but sometimes I need “a little help from my friends.” My friends are songs that inspire me. Naturally my son is now a fan of some of these songs, so I’ll share a few with you.

Radio, Radio – Elvis Costello and the Attractions

I’m not a huge Elvis Costello fan, but this song really pushes me. It has a great beat and a good message. I find it telling that Raymond’s favorite line is “And the radio is in the hands of such a lot of fools trying to anesthetize the way that you feel.” He has trouble singing it, but he really loves it anyway!

Handlebars – Flobots

Okay, this is a newer addition, and I think Raymond only likes it because he is really into riding his bike right now, but it still helps get me going. A simple college alt-rock/rap anthem about power and ego. Good stuff.

One Toke Over The Line – Brewer & Shipley

I put this on a mix cd thinking Raymond might enjoy the vocal interplay and upbeat tempo. He didn’t cotton to it at first, but now he loves it. It really helps me smile and push on when things are tough.

Gnarls Barkley – Going On

Raymond likes a few Gnarls Barkley songs, but this is the one that really gets my blood pumping. “Connect the cause and effect, one foot in front of the next, this is the start of a journey.” Gets me every time.

Must Of Got Lost – J. Geils Band

Not sure why he loves this one so much, but he sure gets into it. I like it because it has a great vocal line and a driving beat. Perfect for in car listening, but I have to fast forward through Peter Wolf’s intro in the live version due to adult language.

Say Hey – Michael Franti & Spearhead

I can’t think of another song that gets me dancing in my seat like this one. Wonderful song, and you get to sing “I love you” a lot in it.

I’ll include one last song, but I will be coming back to this topic in the future. My wife has one song in particular that she dedicates to Raymond every time she hears it, and I think its pretty apropos so the lyrics are below. They’re worth a read.

When I Paint My Masterpiece – Bob Dylan

Oh, the streets of Rome are filled with rubble,
Ancient footprints are everywhere.
You can almost think that you’re seein’ double
On a cold, dark night on the Spanish Stairs.
Got to hurry on back to my hotel room,
Where I’ve got me a date with Botticelli’s niece.
She promised that she’d be right there with me
When I paint my masterpiece.

Oh, the hours I’ve spent inside the Coliseum,
Dodging lions and wastin’ time.
Oh, those mighty kings of the jungle, I could hardly stand to see ’em,
Yes, it sure has been a long, hard climb.
Train wheels runnin’ through the back of my memory,
When I ran on the hilltop following a pack of wild geese.
Someday, everything is gonna be smooth like a rhapsody
When I paint my masterpiece.

Sailin’ ’round the world in a dirty gondola.
Oh, to be back in the land of Coca-Cola!

I left Rome and landed in Brussels,
On a plane ride so bumpy that I almost cried.
Clergymen in uniform and young girls pullin’ muscles,
Everyone was there to greet me when I stepped inside.
Newspapermen eating candy
Had to be held down by big police.
Someday, everything is gonna be diff’rent
When I paint my masterpiece.

Someday, everything is gonna be diff’rent…

