Alright, howdy all! Sorry its been awhile, but I have been super busy the last 3 months or so. First off, upon changing our son’s school, which was an ugly process, we became involved in our new school. The new school, Courtland Elementary, is an absolute delight. They have the oldest autism program in Spotsylvania county and really focus on inclusion. The staff and teachers are wonderful, and even the other parents volunteer and work hard to make sure the school is successful.

Also, our local autism community is growing and developing a voice! If you are in Virginia and have not heard of Commonwealth Autism Service then you should check them out. They set up Autism Action Groups all over the state, and we have been developing one for the Fredericksburg Area. It is called the Fredericksburg Region Autism Action Group, or FRAAG for short. We are developing a resource list that I will share on here as soon as we have it hosted.

That leads to my next announcement. Due to my involvement with FRAAG, I was asked to attend an Autism Society of Northern Virginia meeting. I am now on the board of ASNV! They are a great organization and have expanded the service area to include Stafford and Fredericksburg. Hopefully Spotsylvania will follow soon. We are in the process of adding it, but bylaws changes take a while.

We have also had several play groups and think tanks. Our local play group/think tank core is 24 families. All in all 2009 was a good year for me, and I hope for even more in 2010. If you want to get on my email list then send me a message. I love to get people in the loop and aware of what is there for their families.

