I know its been a while, but I finally have a few minutes to throw some knowledge down. I’ll post an update of what I’ve been up to shortly, but I have a few things on my mind I want to share while they are fresh. Number format so I don’t lose track.

1. Break it into pieces. If the pieces are too big, break the pieces into smaller pieces until you can manage them.

What I mean is that autism is overwhelming. There is so much to learn, so much to do, that you have to make it manageable somehow. My wife and I divide things, and set tasks. When she researches something, I take her word on it, and vice versa. That leads to my second point.

2. If your partner is on board, trust them.

When I say partner, I mean partner in autism. I know a lot of folks are in this alone, and my heart goes out to you. This is hard with two people. I can’t imagine doing it alone. Still, if it is you and your spouse, your dad, your mom, your aunt, or whoever, trust them. Our instinct as parents is to be protective, but at some point we have to let someone else in. When I finally started trusting my wife’s opinion and statements, we became more than the sum of our parts. I hope you have someone you can allow that to happen with. (Great sentence, ey?)

3. Write, call and email your elected officials

If you can find time, get our kids on the radar. Make a big deal. Hand write a letter, or have your child who is affected write a letter or draw a picture. If you put these people on the spot and make them see our kids then they will either respond or be shown as an uncaring cretin. Remember who we are working to help!

4. Schedule one on one time with your child

I am a busy guy, and I think I can do it all. My problem is I like to work, and I love to help. Unfortunately, that means I often overschedule myself. In order to help maintain my priorities, I now schedule time with my son. I know he would want me to help other kids like him, but not at the expense of his time with daddy. What helps our kids the most, and invests them in our world the most is our presence, our care, our love. Take time to express it.

That’s it for now. Keep up the great work!

