After a good nights sleep and a greasy muffin I took my venti americano to the science session. Again, it is amazing how friendly everyone has been. I love the attitude of everyone here. Its amazing how a shared tragedy can make strangers into friends.

Our keynote speaker was an odd choice. Duane Anderson, political medico and establishment shill, started us off with a boring statistical rundown of things we already knew. He was nonconfrontational only in tone, not in content. Thankfully our moderator countered his points to thunderous applause.

Our first speaker, Dr. McGinnis, spoke about the brainstem hypothesis. The brainstem hypothesis posits (roughly) that the blood brain barrier is weaker in certain areas which are easy entry points for toxins to cross into the brainstem. Fascinating and scary stuff, especially considering the sheer volume of toxins in our environment. Next up was Dr. Anthony Fasano, a research doctor specializing in leaky gut syndrome. He was an engaging and animated speaker and revealed a great deal of clinical data relating to gluten issues in the intestines. The Q & A was even more enlightening.

I needed the lunch break. Kelly and I did some shopping at the vendor tables and decided to go for a walk. After a nice lunch at a nearby taco place I returned to class. This was Dr. Simon Gregory sharing epigenetic evidence of oxytocin receptor deficiency in autism. This was pretty dry stuff, but the bit on DNA methylation was worth the time. Also, the thought that incorrect methylation alters gene expression is exciting. We have been trying to help Raymod methylate since we started biomedical intervention.

Next up was Dr. Martha Welch who I found to be fascinating and informative. She originated some critical research on oxytocin and secretin receptors in the gut, finally tying the gut-brain axis together chemically. The information and research on oxytocin alone was awesome, but when you think about everything oxytocin does for socialization and regulation you can really start to get excited about it. We finished up with Dr. Judy Ven de Water talking about Maternal Antibodies to Fetal Brain in Autism. She was brilliant, but my mind was gone. I must admit I hardly retained anything she said, although the depth of her research is incredible.

I must say this conference is everything I hoped it would be so far. I definitely feel like it was worth the time and money. The only thing missing is Raymond. Maybe if we come again next year we’ll bring him with us. That would bring it all full circle for me. Luckily we get the night off as we’re meeting some old friends for dinner at the Annabelle Lee. See you tomorrow!

