Okay guys, I don’t normally reference other blogs, but I read an awesome one today. I recommend you read it. Its at http://alternativechoicespa.blogspot.com/2011/01/richmond-va-fathers-voices.html.

Its about how we can change how we parent, and how to make the most of our time. This sort of thing really resonates with me. My dad, although he worked 50+ hours a week, always had me around helping swing a hammer or use a screwdriver. That’s the sort of thing I want to leave my son with when I’m gone. I want him to know I included him in my life and tried to teach him something both fun and important.

I know, between therapies and doctor visits and school, that it is difficult to find the time. However, I think we all have opportunities to find our voice and speak to our kids. It doesn’t always seem like they hear us, but they do. We are one of the two most powerful people in their worlds, and as such we need to let them know we are here and that we care.

Also, if you’re in the Richmond area several dads are starting a dads group, so you may want to join. You can check that out at the ASCV website. If you want to start a dads group here in Fredericksburg, let me know and I’ll do what I can to help.

