I don’t know if anyone who reads this uses Spotify, a free music service, but I do. I’ve been working on a playlist of songs that inspire me to advocate and you can view it at

http://open.spotify.com/user/raynelsonrealtor/playlist/3FaElOfvzMoJ98PEvt0HFH Inspiration

If you use ShareMyPlaylist then you can view it under Inspiration. It has a picture of a taco, something else I find highly motivating!

I’m sharing it because sometimes its tough to get yourself motivated to keep on fighting. I’m not necessarily advocating an aggressive or gainsaying sort of approach here, but getting services for your child, talking to legislators and bureacrats, working through therapies and parenting a special needs kid can be a battle. These are songs that give me a quick battery recharge and help me stay the course. I’ll keep adding to it, but in this is the first draft of the play list. I put little notes after some of them so you can get an idea of why they mean something to me.

This Land is Your Land – Woody Guthrie (this land belongs to all of us)
Man in Black – Johnny Cash (one of my heroes who never forgot what it was like to be down and out)
The Times They Are A’Changin’ – Bob Dylan
The Dead Heart – Midnight Oil
Pi – Kate Bush
(it reminds me of Raymond’s number obsession)
Rebirth of Slick – Digable Planets
Rat Race – Bob Marley & The Wailers
(reminds me where I’m running)
Cantaloop – Us3 (Raymond danced to this at his theater camp this year)
Rebel Without a Pause – Public Enemy
So What? – Miles Davis
A Love Supreme Part 1: Acknowledgement – John Coltrane
(reminds me to be humble)
Strange Fruit – Billie Holliday (Helps me remember that many people went through much worse things to win their rights)
Whats Going On? – Marvin Gaye (“Talk to me so you can see what’s going on.” Powerful words for our people.)
Ball of Confusion – The Temptations
Apeman – The Kinks
Going Underground – The Jam
Rock the Casbah – The Clash
(all about the transformative and revolutionary power of music)
We’re Desperate – X (“We’re desperate! Get used to it!”)
Guerilla Radio – Rage Against The Machine
You Can’t Bring Me Down – Suicidal Tendencies

(“Yeah I may feel like shit but at least I’m not full of shit!” Truer words)
We’re Not Gonna Take It – Twisted Sister
Distant Early Warning – Rush
(“You sometimes drive me crazy but I worry about you.” I feel that way every damn day.)

Some of the songs have explicit lyrics, so maybe its not ideal for when younger kids are around. Feel free to comment, add songs, suggest songs, whatever. If it inspires or moves you I’m interested in hearing about it!

