The autobiography of Daniel Tammet’s full title is “Born on a Blue Day: Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant.” Its a fascinating look into the way at least one autistic mind works. Tammet is twice exceptional, as he not only has autism but also has savant syndrome. Savant syndrome is a condition characterized by a special skill, ability or gift in a given area. Most people will think immediately of Rain Man and the toothpick counting scene, but it can be much more than that. From what I’ve read savant syndrome only affects 10% of the autism population.

Tammet’s book is well written and full of insight. He starts in childhood, and shares many of his personal idiosyncrasies. I am particularly intrigued by his description of how he perceives numbers. He is especially honest in his description of relationships. The reader gets a real feeling of his emotions and anxiety surrounding people and social interaction, especially during his teens and early twenties.

His life is interesting, to say the least. He sets at least one world record, learns a language in record time and astounds everyone around him in general. However, you can tell by his writing that he doesn’t suffer from the hubris common to many great minds. His talents are a fact of life and a part of who he is, nothing more and nothing less.

The level of intimacy in this book is astounding. When I write I do so honestly, but the detail that Tammet goes into while sharing his life is amazing to me. He is a very interesting and gifted individual. As usual, I won’t be going into too many details because I don’t want to ruin your read. This book gets 5 out of 5 stars. It doesn’t drag, or didn’t for me, and kept me engaged throughout. I couldn’t put it down. You can pick it up from Amazon here.

