We are believers in the biomedical side of autism, and existence for that matter. It does make a certain amount of sense to me that garbage in = garbage out. One of the most effective supplements we have found to help our son sleep is, of course, melatonin. However, until about a year ago I never really thought to use it for myself.

Then I developed cluster headaches. Cluster headaches are a fairly rare form of migraine that comes and goes but are grouped around a time period. The pain, for me, was excruciating. Naturally I turned to my best doctor, google, to get some solutions. A number of them were pretty off the wall, but one that I thought might work was a high dose of melatonin.

To clarify, a typical adult dose of melatonin is 3mg. We give our son 1mg and it is more than sufficient. However, these sites were calling for 8-10 mg, which was a little unnerving. After talking it over with my neurologist, I felt comfortable giving it a try.

I don’t think I’ve ever slept better. It really put me into a super deep sleep and I woke up feeling super refreshed. Did it cure the headaches? No, but it did seem to keep them from coming back during the day. Eventually I moved on to a better cure, but I still use melatonin when I have trouble sleeping.

A number of supplements we biomedical parents give our kids can help us too. We share genetic material, we share biological material, why not supplements? Something to think about.

