This is my annual exhortation to my readers to vote. I would say that our contentious times require our vote, but we have a responsibility to vote whether or not there are difficult decisions to be made. I don’t align myself with any party, but instead try to vote for the person I feel will do the best job representing my interests, my family’s interests, my client’s interests and the community’s interests. If you want things to change, especially on the local level, you need to vote. My recommendations for the Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania races I’m voting in are below.

I do want to urge local folks to vote for Democratic Senator Edd Houck. He has been a stalwart supporter of folks with disabilities for many years. His experience as an educator has given him the ability to see how much help our kids need. He has also been a pro business candidate. I feel that Bryce Reeves attacks on him have been pretty far below the belt, and having heard Reeves speak I don’t think he will do a good job representing anyone.

I will also be supporting Republican Delegate Bobby Orrock this election. I’ve always been happy with Bobby. He is a centrist candidate who does a great job representing all aspects of his constituency. I don’t agree with every vote, but I do feel that he is a fair guy who evaluates each issue based on its merits rather than voting blindly along party lines.

This is your chance to make a difference. Make it count.

